Help us protect Louisiana's children. Report Child Abuse & Neglect: 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437) toll-free, 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Family Support

On the Road Again with Child Support

Payors of child support (non-custodial parents) whose driver's licenses have been administratively suspended can get their license reinstated for a reduced amount.

Program dates

August 1, 2019 - September 30, 2019

How it works

For each case, non-custodial parents must pay:

  • Two months of court-ordered child support, and
  • $100 toward arrears or past-due support, and
  • Administrative fee, if court ordered.
This payment does not include any reinstatement fees or fines that may be required by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles.


Get started

Speak with your caseworker to determine the exact amount needed to qualify.

  • Send your caseworker a message through your CAFÉ account, OR
  • Email Child Support Enforcement at OntheRoad.DCFS@la.gov, OR
  • Email our Customer Service Center at LAHelpU.DCFS@la.gov, OR
  • Call 1-888-524-3578 (Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.), OR
  • Visit your nearest Child Support Enforcement office (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.)

 

 

For a limited time beginning August 1, DCFS is offering an opportunity for payors of child support (Non-Custodial Parents) whose driver's licenses have been administratively suspended to get their license reinstated for a reduced amount.

Typically, a payor who has fallen behind in their child support payments, and had their license suspended as a result, must come into subsequent or partial compliance with their court-ordered support payments before the license may be reinstated. Subsequent compliance requires the payor to be up-to-date with current child support payments; have paid all their past-due support or be making periodic payments in accordance with either a court order or a written agreement with the DCFS analyst; and have provided health insurance, if required to do so.

With the "On the Road Again" project, DCFS Child Support Enforcement (CSE) is offering to reduce those requirements for eligible payors who seek to participate on or before Sept. 30, 2019.

Click here to learn more about the project.