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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Children and Family Services
Child Welfare

State Central Registry
(LAC 67.V.1103)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Children 

and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:V, Subpart

3, Chapter 11, Section 1103 State Central Registry.

Section 1103 is being amended to allow DCFS to disclose 

information regarding perpetrators of child abuse and/or neglect 

listed on the SCR involving any owner, operator, current or 

prospective employee or volunteer of a juvenile detention 

facility licensed by the Office of Juvenile Justice (OJJ) to OJJ 

consistent with Act 445 of the 2023 Louisiana Legislative 

session. Section 1103 is also being amended related to 

registered family child care providers and registered in-home

child care providers to be consistent with BESE Bulletins 137 

and 139.

Title 67

SOCIAL SERVICES

Part V. Child Welfare

Subpart 3. Child Protective Services

Chapter 11. Administration and Authority

§1103. State Central Registry

A. - F.2. ...

G. DCFS is authorized to release information maintained 

on the SCR in limited circumstances. This information will be 

released according to the following provisions.

1. – 8. ...

9. DCFS will disclose information on perpetrators of

child abuse and/or neglect who are:
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a. listed on the SCR involving any owner,

operator, current or prospective employee or volunteer of a 

specialized provider or juvenile detention facility licensed by 

DCFS to DCFS Licensing;

b. a day care center licensed by the Louisiana

Department of Education (LDOE) to LDOE;listed on the SCR 

involving any owner, operator, current or prospective employee 

or volunteer of an early learning center licensed by the 

Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) to LDOE;

c. a registered family child day care home

registered by LDOE to LDOE; and/or listed on the SCR involving 

any provider, current or prospective employee working in the 

residence or on the property where the care is provided, or 

resident on the property of a registered family child care 

provider or registered in-home child care provider registered by 

LDOE to LDOE;

d. LDOE employees and potential employees

responsible for the performance of licensing inspections to 

LDOE.; and/or

e. listed on the SCR involving an owner,

operator, current or prospective employee or volunteer of a 

juvenile detention facility licensed by Office of Juvenile 

Justice (OJJ) to OJJ.

10. LDOE is authorized to collect the $25 fee for the

clearance on behalf of DCFS for requests from any owner, 

operator, current or prospective employee or volunteer of an 

early learning center a day care center licensed by the LDOE or 

for any provider, current or prospective employee, or resident 

of a registered family child day care home provider or

registered in-home child care provider registered by LDOE. An 

owner, operator, current or prospective employee or volunteer of 

a specialized provider licensed by DCFS or juvenile detention 
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facility licensed by DCFS Office of Juvenile Justice shall

submit the $25 fee to DCFS with the written request which shall 

include the express consent of the applicant to the departments. 

DCFS will not disclose such information until there is 

confirmation of receipt of the $25 fee by LDOE or DCFS.

11. - 15. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Children’s Code, title VI, articles 615 and 616 and title XII, 

article 1173, R.S. 14:403(H), R.S. 46:51.2(A), R.S 46:56, R.S. 

46:1414.1, 42 USC 15601 et seq., 28 CFR 115.6., 42 USC 9858f and

R.S. 40:2008.10.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Services, LR 18:79 (January 1992), 

amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:583 (June 1995), LR 

23:590 (May 1997), LR 26:790 (April 2000), LR 31:1609 (July 

2005), LR 36:838 (April 2010), amended by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Child 

Welfare Section, LR 42:862 (June 2016), amended by the 

Department of Children and Family Services, Division of Child 

Welfare, LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 2018, amended 

LR 45:217 (February 2019), amended LR 45:1053 (August 2019), LR 

46:14 (January 2020), effective February 1, 2020, LR 49:1028 

(June 2023), LR 50:

Family Impact Statement

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972.

Poverty Impact Statement

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973.
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Small Business Statement

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act.

Provider Impact Statement

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in HCR

170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session.

Public Comments

All interested persons may submit written comments to Myrna

Brunson, Assistant Secretary of Child Welfare, Department of 

Children and Family Services, P.O. Box 3776, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821 or by email to DCFSPublicHearings@la.gov. The deadline for 

submitting written comments is at 4:30 p.m. on May 28, 2024.

Public Hearing

A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on May

28, 2024, at DCFS, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 

Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 10:00 a.m.  All 

interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 

data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 

hearing.  Individuals with disabilities who require special 

services should contact the DCFS Appeals Unit at least seven 

working days in advance of the hearing.  For assistance, call 

(225) 342-4120 (voice and TDD).

David Matlock
Secretary












